Necessities and Recommendations of Georgia eVisa

Georgia, nestled in the Caucasus region of Eurasia, captivates visitors with its breathtaking scenery, rich history, and vibrant cultural heritage. The government has introduced a new eVisa policy, streamlining the entry process for foreign travellers and enhancing the overall travel experience.

Countries Eligible for Georgia eVisa Application

Positioned at the intersection of Europe and Asia, Georgia beckons travellers with its abundant history, varied culture, and stunning scenery. In an effort to streamline travel procedures, Georgia has introduced an electronic visa (eVisa) system, allowing nationals of certain countries to easily apply for their visas via the Internet before their journey.

Georgia eVisa Eligible Countries with Multiple Entry Option

Citizens of Bolivia, Cuba, Dominica, East Timor, Grenada, Guatemala, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, North Macedonia, Palau, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, and Vanuatu can apply for a Georgia eVisa, which allows multiple entries and permits stays of up to 90 days within a 180-day period.

Georgia eVisa Eligible Countries with Multiple Entry Option (30 Days)

Citizens of Angola, Benin, Bhutan, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cape Verde, The Central African Republic, China, Comoros, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Fiji, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Jamaica, Laos, Lesotho, Macau, Madagascar, Malawi, Maldives, Mongolia, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, North Korea, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Togo, Vietnam, Zambia, and Zimbabwe can apply for a Georgia eVisa, permitting multiple entries and stays of up to 30 days within a 120-day period.

Countries Exempt from Georgia Visa Requirement

The government allows citizens from various nations to enter Georgia for tourism, work, study, and other purposes without needing a visa or residence permit. Nationals of European Union member states, Albania, Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile (for stays up to 90 days in a 180-day period), Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Honduras, Iceland, Iran (for stays up to 45 days), Israel, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Liechtenstein, Malaysia, Mauritius, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, New Zealand, Norway, Oman, Panama, Qatar, Russia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Thailand, Turkey (with a national ID card), Turkmenistan, United Arab Emirates, Ukraine, United Kingdom British Overseas Territories, United States, Uruguay (for stays up to 90 days), Uzbekistan, and Vatican City are among those eligible. Please note that citizens of Bermuda, the British Virgin Islands, the Cayman Islands, the Falkland Islands, Gibraltar, and the Turks and Caicos Islands also benefit from this exemption.

Additional Considerations for Georgia Visa Exemption

In addition to the general visa exemption policy, certain categories of travellers benefit from specific considerations when visiting Georgia:

  • Layovers and Crew: Travellers passing through Georgia (in transit) for up to 10 days with the necessary documents and staying within designated airport areas don't need a visa.
  • Georgian Expats: Citizens of Georgia residing abroad, even if from countries requiring visas, can visit Georgia visa-free for up to 30 days.
  • Residents in Georgia: Foreigners with official residency permits in Georgia, including refugees and those granted humanitarian status, are exempt from visas for the validity period of their permits.
  • Travel Documents Issued by the UN: Holders of UN Laissez-Passers can enter Georgia without a visa and stay for up to one year, with exceptions for some employment-related situations.
  • Visa/Residence Permit Holders of Certain Countries: Travellers holding valid visas or residence permits issued by specific countries can stay in Georgia for up to 90 days within a 180-day period without a Georgian visa, as long as their documents are still valid upon arrival.

Living in Georgia: Your Guide to Residence Permits

Thinking about staying in Georgia for a while? A residence permit might be what you need. It grants foreign nationals the right to live in Georgia for a set period, either temporarily or permanently. Whether you're there for work, studies, or to be with family, a residence permit allows you to come and go as you please during its validity.

Here are the different types of residence permits Georgia offers:

  • Work Permit: Ideal for folks employed by a Georgian company, allowing them to live and work in the country.
  • Student Permit: Issued to international students enrolled in a Georgian educational institution, enabling them to stay for the duration of their studies.
  • Family Reunification Permit: This permit facilitates family unity by allowing foreign nationals related to Georgian citizens or permanent residents to reside in Georgia.
  • Investment Permit: For those investing a specific amount in Georgia, this permit grants residency for a designated period.


Citizens of countries specified by the government for eVisa issuance are eligible. These include countries like Bolivia, Cuba, and East Timor.

Depending on the purpose of travel and specific requirements, travellers can stay for up to 90 days within a 180-day period with a Georgia eVisa.

Essential documents include a valid passport, recent photograph, travel itinerary, accommodation details, travel health insurance, and financial documents. Additional documents may be required based on travel purpose and duration of stay.

The entire Georgia eVisa application process can be completed online. There is no need to visit a diplomatic mission in person.

Processing times may vary, but typically, it takes a few days for the authorities to process eVisa applications. Applying well before your planned travel dates is advisable to avoid any delays.



Apply eVisa